Abortion Clinic Complaint?
HAVE you been physically harmed by an abortion doctor?
WAS the facility substandard in terms of cleanliness?
DID the clinic personnel fail to give you a written description of the actual abortion procedure or a picture of an unborn baby the same gestational age as your baby?
DID the clinic comply with the law, by waiting the required 24 hours before performing the procedure?
DID the clinic personnel fail to give you information concerning what to do or where to go if complications arose from the abortion?
DID the clinic fail to ask you if you wanted to see the ultrasound of your baby, if one was performed?
DO you know someone under the age of 18, who unlawfully obtained an abortion without her parent's written consent or a judicial bypass?
These are all violations of the law and must be reported .
The Georgia Legislature passed the Woman's Right to Know Act in 2005.
The law provides that an abortion can only be performed in Georgia after "voluntary and informed consent of the female" at least 24 hours before the abortion except in a medical emergency. It spells out what information doctors will provide and requires the Georgia Department of Human Resources, DHR, to publish material with additional details.
When you sign your consent for an abortion, you are saying that the doctor has told you about:
Your consent also notes your doctor has provided information that:
The printed materials, prepared by DHR, include:
Minors and Abortion
In Georgia, an individual is an "unemancipated minor" until marriage or age 18, whichever comes first. The law requires notifying the parents of minors before an abortion and provides for other protections.
Your parent or guardian will be involved in your choice to have an abortion in most cases. They may inform the doctor that they have already been told about the abortion or that they do not wish to be consulted. In any case they must be notified unless you go to court.
In addition, even after your parent or guardian has been involved, you must sign your own consent "freely and without coercion" to obtain the abortion.
In a few cases there may be unusual circumstances when the doctor or the minor believes it is not in the best interest of the minor to notify the parent or guardian. These cases must be settled in juvenile court. County juvenile courts are listed here.
Ultrasound Viewing Law
The Woman's Right to Know Act was amended in 2007. It states:
Your Right to Privacy
Doctors are requited by law to provide statistics related to abortions to the Georgia Department of Human Resources, DHR. Names are not used in these reports. All information collected is anonymous.
Abortion Complications Reporting law
The law requires that a physician treating a woman for complications resulting from an abortion report it to the health department.
Was/were the patient (you) physically hurt by a doctor? If so, she (you) should file a complaint with the health department, which could lead to an investigation of the physician and to a possible license suspension.
If the physician is suspected of negligence or malpractice, in addition to filing a complaint, the patient (you) has/have the option to sue for medical malpractice.
For patients over 14 weeks:
Was the Laminaria inserted by your physician? Only a licensed physician is permitted to do so.
If you were a two day patient and had complications overnight, were you able to reach anyone? An RN or Physician is required to be on call 24 hours to take emergency calls.
Georgia Right to Life